TJ Ridley, MD

Schedule Online Call for Appointment
763-786-9543

Testimonials

April 10, 2024

Jon S.

I had an incredible experience with Dr. TJ Ridley. From the first time we met to look at options for my left hip, Dr. Ridley was professional, insightful, patient and knowledgeable. He has a wonderful team at TCO and my recovery and PT with the EXCEL Program was incredible. I highly recommend Dr. Ridley for anything orthopedic related. Dr. Ridley has a way about him that gave me great confidence and comfort.

March 12, 2024

Matt L.

I had a phenomenal experience working with Dr. Ridley and his team from start to finish. From the beginning, I felt that Dr. Ridley truly cared for me as his patient. He walked me through the procedure that he recommended, but I never felt pressured. I’m so thankful I took his advice to move forward with surgery. I no longer have pain in my left knee, which bothered me for the past couple years. At 7 weeks post-surgery, I’m back to my long walks and Peloton workouts with no soreness the next day.

March 8, 2024

Lisa B.

Dr. Ridley performed knee surgery on my high-school aged daughter and has been thorough in every sense along the way. This was my daughter’s third knee surgery (the first two by other surgeons), so we had many questions, and it made things a bit more complicated. We live in the Duluth area but working with Dr. Ridley has been nothing but positive and absolutely worth the extra travel. He is a clear communicator, and prompt for all appointment times, answers questions well, and we couldn’t be happier with the surgery results. We really feel he is an incredibly attentive physician. Thank you, Dr. Ridley, for such a positive experience!

March 8, 2024

Janelle N.

I recently came to Dr. Ridley to follow up after a fall on the leg that he had repaired. I appreciate Dr. Ridley’s honest approach to care; he is also very thorough. I will continue to recommend him for his professionalism and excellent care.

February 7, 2024

Greg N.

Dr. Ridley answered all my questions of moving forward with my second knee replacement. He performed a replacement on my other knee two years ago and I couldn’t be happier! He personally followed up on my pre-operative and post-operative visits and was proactive in getting the surgery and insurance handled promptly.

January 13, 2024

Sara M.

When I first met with Dr. Ridley, I had been having hip pain for at least 6 years. I tried hip injections, physical therapy, BioFreeze, etc., but nothing really helped that much. When Dr. Ridley offered me hip replacement surgery, I jumped at the change. I like to be active with my family and I was no longer able to physically do the things we wanted to do as a family without extreme pain. I was nervous before surgery, but everything went well, and I am so glad I got the surgery. I walked over 9 miles the other day (about 5 months post-surgery), and still no pain. I am so grateful for Dr. Ridley helping me get my life back. I now go for hikes, play outside sports with my kids and live life fully again.

December 19, 2023

Kristin K.

Dr. Ridley has been absolutely fantastic. The surgery to fix my broken and dislocated right elbow was done almost 3 months ago and I am healing up great from it. I have almost full motion back in that arm. He has answered every question I have had. Dr. Ridley and his team are wonderful and I am very happy I went to him for the surgery!

December 18, 2023

Mike S.

I am extremely grateful as both a patient and as a physical therapist working with Dr. Ridley. Earlier this year I had an aggravation from an old surgery and progression of arthritis to the outside of the knee. I have worked with patients that saw Dr. Ridley and his team, so I knew he was my first stop. We met for the initial assessments. I found out there was a little more going on than affects from my old knee surgery. I had a couple new meniscus tears. As a couple of orthopedic nerds, we discussed treatment options and he recommended a few surgical and non-surgical options.

For me, the best part of the experience was that Dr. Ridley respected my questions and thoughts/concerns as well. He understood my history as a former college athlete and my goals for fitness with free weights and other functional fitness approaches. I ultimately landed on arthroscopic knee surgery. Considering the progressed arthritis to my knee cap and extra tears to the meniscus on both sides of my knee, I feel better coming out of this surgery than I did coming out of my first surgery 14 years ago. I was quickly able to demonstrate proper lower extremity exercises to my patients and return to fitness training at a faster rate than expected. And I have been a PT for 14 years! Thanks Doctor Ridley and team for helping me more comfortably treat my own patients, but more importantly, helping me keep up with my kids and family. Keep up the great work in our communities!

October 7, 2023

Carol

My husband had two complete knee replacements by Dr. Ridley this year. His choice for orthopedic doctors was the best! Dr. Ridley is not only an outstanding surgeon, but his professionalism and follow up care ranks five stars also. If you’re in need for any orthopedic care, we would highly recommend Dr. Ridley as your doctor!

September 11, 2023

Sara H.

I just wanted to say thank you to Dr. Ridley for his care in repairing my knee/ACL. While I definitely wasn’t thrilled about having surgery, he made me feel at ease with the process and I appreciate it! While I hope to not need his services again, I will recommend him and TCO to anyone in need in the future.

August 21, 2023

Allyson

I cannot begin to express my gratitude for Dr. Ridley’s support and knowledge throughout this process. When I tore my ACL, I was devastated and I figured my collegiate hockey career was over. But I can’t thank you and your team enough for turning that around. TCO, and Dr. Ridley was so helpful in getting me back on the ice. Everyone genuinely cared for my recovery and always answered any questions or issues I had. Thank you!

August 17, 2023

Jack B.

I had a broken collarbone from a mountain biking crash. Dr. Ridley‘s team was able to put me into his schedule quickly, and he surgically repaired my collarbone on very short notice. He put in a plate and 8 screws. I just had my 6-week follow up appointment and I have been healing great. I have full range of motion, no pain and am working to build back the strength in my arm.

Beyond his skills as a surgeon, what sets him apart is his approach to his patients. He was very careful to explain how the bone broke, how he planned to repair it, and then how it actually all came together. He takes the time for his patients to make sure they are comfortable and educated with what he will be doing. I 100% recommend Dr. Ridley to anyone that needs orthopedic treatment.

August 10, 2023

Kaelyn N.

When I first tore my ACL while Nordic skiing, I was scared I would never run as fast again. The thought of missing my sophomore track season and my junior cross country season scared me, but my perspective changed when I came to TCO.

My family chose TCO because of its good reputation for getting athletes back from injury, and I am super glad we made that decision. Dr. TJ Ridley and my physical therapists, Lee Burtraw, DPT, Beth Kadrlik, DPT, and Kate Cayton, DPT, helped me return to cross country faster than I ever imagined. My PTs gave me different challenging exercises each week which was fun and kept me active throughout my recovery process.

By the end of the cross country season, I was faster than ever due to my newfound strength from PT. I achieved a personal record at the cross country state meet and even qualified for state in Nordic skiing and track for the first time!

Huge shout out to Dr. Ridley for doing such a great job on my surgery and helping me through the recovery process. All the TCO staff I interacted with inspired me to look into being a physical therapist or a sports physician! If anyone has torn their ACL or has any other injury, I highly recommend TCO for a great overall experience.

Kaelyn Nelson

 

July 30, 2023

Tricia Z.

Dr. Ridley and his team are nothing short of amazing. He performed hip surgery on both of my daughters’ hips. Dr. Ridley is caring, professional and sees the treatment all the way through, from pre-op to the final day of physical therapy. The communication with his while team, including the physical therapist, was exceptional. We have loved our experience with TCO, Dr. Ridley, his team and Liz, the physical therapist. Thanks to them, my daughter is on her way to being her active self again and we cannot thank Dr. Ridley enough. He’s the BEST!

June 21, 2023

Brad M.

I received top notch care from beginning to the end. Dr. Ridley and TCO staff answered all my questions honestly from the beginning. Physical therapy staff were vital in my path to healing. Trust the process, it works!

June 9, 2023

Nadine H.

I would recommend Dr. Ridley and his team to all my family and friends. The care and concern I received before, during, and after my hip scope surgery was amazing. The pain management they provided me helped to aid in my healing and recovery. Everything from insurance approvals, to connecting with people, to setting up cooling devices for after surgery, was taken care of for me. There was always someone available for me to reach out to with questions. All in all, it was a great experience!

June 9, 2023

Tom B.

Dr. Ridley and the TCO team have been awesome to work with from the start. Alec Weis, the certified athletic trainer at our school, started the process and helped open up lines of communication from the beginning. Dr. Ridley has been great by communicating with us every step of the way. We had a lot of questions prior to surgery, and he answered everything with clarity and gave us a lot of confidence in the process. Our experience with TCO physical therapy has also been outstanding. The level of experience and expertise from the staff is evident, and the recovery process has been smooth. Thank you, Dr. Ridley, for helping us navigate this experience.

May 26, 2023

Leane G.

I had a broken arm and from my first appointment to my final 3 month appointment, I have appreciated the professionalism and knowledge of Dr. Ridley and his team. He clearly explained my X-rays and the options available for treatment. I would definitely recommend Dr. Ridley to my family and friends.

April 15, 2023

Kristy M.

I went to see Dr. Ridley for pain in my knee. He had an MRI done to see what else may be going on and discovered 2 blood clots that were not related to my knee pain. He called me when he found them and had me go to the ER immediately for an ultrasound. I was put on blood thinners to treat them. The discovery was incredible, and I am very thankful to Dr. Ridley for going the extra mile to ensure there was nothing else going on that he couldn’t see through an x-ray.

March 24, 2023

Reid J.

I could not have asked for a better experience. Dr. Ridley and all of the staff are always so kind and compassionate. Dr. Ridley performed an arthroscopic hip surgery for treatment of hip impingement and labral tear. Dr. Ridley personally called me before surgery to see if I had any questions and he also called me after surgery to see how I was doing. I would recommend him to all my friends and family. I am now 6 weeks post-op and my hip is feeling better than ever! Dr. Ridley is a kind and compassionate physician and I will continue to see him for my future orthopedic needs!

March 19, 2023

Ryan E.

Dr. Ridley is fantastic! I couldn’t have asked for a better surgeon. He listens well, communicates well, and is genuinely a nice guy. I highly recommend him. Thank you, Dr. Ridley!

February 25, 2023

Suzann R.

My husband Richard is 69 years old and had a hip replacement recently. At 7 weeks post-op he is doing fantastic! At first he contemplated seeing another doctor who performed this surgery using the anterior approach, which is advertised to have a shorter and easier recovery. After talking to Dr. Ridley, he explained to us that research shows that the posterior approach’s healing and recovery time was just the same. We are so happy we chose Dr. Ridley to perform his surgery!

Not only is he a great surgeon, he is personable, friendly, happy, and takes as much time as you need to answer all of your questions. His entire team is awesome too. His care coordinator, his PA, and nurse are so helpful and knowledgeable. Whoever said that the anterior approach was the best way to go was wrong. Dr. Ridley performs the posterior approach and people can’t believe how great Richard’s recovery is going.

If you are considering having a hip replacement, please consider Dr. Ridley as your orthopedic surgeon. You’ll never regret it. We also highly recommend doing your exercises religiously and consider going to physical therapy. You’ll never regret either of these decisions. Thank you, Dr. Ridley! We’ll definitely be seeing you again for the other hip surgery.

February 20, 2023

Kelly O.

Surgery with Dr. Ridley was by far the best surgery experience I’ve had to date, including myself and my children! From the cleanliness, the staff’s friendliness, the quickness of getting us in and out, the knowledge of everyone including the front desk staff/doctors/nurses, and the efficiency of Dr. Ridley and the nurses after surgery was incredible. Seriously 5 stars! Way to go TCO!

February 16, 2023

Maria P.

Dr. Ridley, thank you SO much! There are no words to express how incredibly grateful I am to have the chance to live life again! This experience has far exceeded my expectations. The path to TCO and your care a very difficult path. I was previously told I had to live with this, so you can imagine how elated I was after our initial meeting. I was beyond excited that I could be fixed and have a chance at an active life once more. That chance is turning out to be a miracle in my eyes! It is very clear you are an amazing doctor/surgeon. Your passion and care for your patients is obvious. I literally traveled by air and land to get that type of care and would do it again in a heartbeat. I have boasted very highly of you up here in the northland! TCO and Dr. Ridley definitely deserve a stellar review. I am excited for my new adventures and I owe it to Dr. Ridley!

December 24, 2022

Adam W.

I highly recommend TCO and Dr. Ridley. I had a 5-star experience from my initial visit to urgent care, to being discharged from therapy post-surgery. Dr. Ridley was personable, professional and highly skilled. He did a fantastic job on my surgery and my scar is barely noticeable. I don’t want to go through another injury, but if I do, I won’t go anywhere else.

December 14, 2022

Jill J.

I have had excellent care with TCO, Dr. Ridley, and Eric Hanson, DPT. I don’t have any experience with injuries so it has been very helpful to be with professionals who are willing to listen to me, answer my questions, and take the time to explain the process of healing and treatment options. All providers and staff have been friendly and encouraging. Coincidentally, I am being treated elsewhere for back issue and have not received the same level of thorough care as TCO. I have already made recommendations to my family! Thank you for your work!

November 10, 2022

Janelle N.

On June 25, 2022 I tore my hamstring muscle off of the bone! Didn’t even know this was a thing! My primary care clinic referred me to Twin Cities Orthopedics due to the amount of pain I was experiencing. From the moment I walked into TCO, I felt their compassion and care. I was in excruciating pain and I was scared. My surgery was performed on July 8th. Everyone from the receptionists, MRI techs, PT staff and especially Dr. Ridley and his care team showered me with personal care. If I had a concern I could call anytime and Dr. Ridley himself called me back. He listened intently and never made my appointments or phone calls feel rushed.

This injury calls for a long recovery. It is now November. I have come a long way and know that I still have work to do, but with TCO and their staff I have confidence to continue moving forward and getting stronger! Thanks TCO!

November 9, 2022

Lezlie P.

I tore two hamstrings and ripped the third one on my left leg. I saw Dr. Ridley and 1.5 days later I was in surgery. He did an amazing job and always helped me if I had questions. I have returned for a shoulder injury already, and will continue to come back to TCO if needed.

October 10, 2022

Aneta M.

I was dealing with a hip injury for two years and it got to the point where it became debilitating. I came across Dr. Ridley at TCO and I’m sure glad I did. He found a labral tear and Femoroacetabular impingement (FAI) and determined that surgery was an option because I tried everything else (hip injections and therapy). He did the surgery and repaired my labrum and shaved down some bone. Recovery went better than I could’ve ever imagined! Dr. Ridley was the best surgeon I could’ve had. His bedside manner was great, he was so passionate in what he does, and explained everything about pre-surgery with such detail. He did such an incredible job! I feel like I have a brand new hip and I was back on my feet after a month (with physical therapy). THANK YOU DR. RIDLEY FOR GIVING ME MY LIFE BACK!!!!

September 21, 2022

Robin K.

After being told I needed a shoulder replacement; I began my research finding an orthopedic surgeon at Twin Cities Orthopedics. I narrowed it down, and my choice was Dr. TJ Ridley. His reviews were excellent, and he had extensive experience in shoulder surgery. He was straight forward and never sugar coated anything. I went through the EXCEL Program at the TCO Blaine location. Dr. Ridley and his surgical team were outstanding! The recovery suite staff were excellent! I am doing great! I give Dr. TJ Ridley 5 stars! Thank you, Dr. Ridley, for your excellent care!!

September 8, 2022

Gerald M.

My grandson, Malachi, had injured his knee playing lacrosse, dislocating his kneecap for the 4th time. I brought him to the emergency room where they x-rayed his knee. The x-ray had shown his injured dislocated kneecap. The hospital then referred us to Twin Cities Orthopedics where Malachi had an MRI that showed his torn ligament. We met with Dr. Ridley and he explained what Malachi’s injury was, then showed us the x-ray and MRI and how he would fix Malachi’s knee. The surgery was a success and the recovery has been remarkable! From the beginning of the process to the end, TCO has been fantastic. I highly recommend Dr. Ridley for his skill and for taking his time to explain what happened and how he was going to repair Malachi’s knee. TCO’s therapy staff has taken a very positive approach to getting his strength and mobility back. Twin Cities Orthopedics has a five-star rating from Malachi and I.

September 5, 2022

David B.

Dr. Ridley was there on the field the night of my injury. That night, he told me the possible outcomes and gave me the support I needed. In the consultation appointments that followed, he gave me information of what was to come. After surgery to reconstruct my ACL and LCL with a meniscus repair, he had a clear plan on what I needed to do to recover. Dr. Ridley was there for every step and was supportive in so many ways!

August 31, 2022

Nicole M.

Dr. Ridley went above and beyond with the repair of my labrum in my hip! He was amazing with the whole process from the first consult, to 3 months post operation. Also, he is amazingly personable and genuinely cares for his patients. I definitely recommend him!

August 31, 2022

Pat M.

I’m very pleased with my experience at TCO and with Dr. Ridley! In my opinion, his professionalism and abilities are very impressive. Thank you for the great work and for my speedy recovery!!

August 18, 2022

Austin S.

Dr. Ridley completed a pectoralis tendon repair for me in June 2022. I turned to him for a second opinion on my injury and couldn’t be more thankful! He accurately diagnosed my injury and implemented a course of action to get me back enjoying activities, using my pec and shoulder as I could before. He was thorough in discussing my options; keeping my best interest in mind. I appreciate his knowledge, professionalism and communication. Dr. Ridley and his team made my entire surgery experience smooth and have guided me through the process toward a successful recovery. I highly recommend Dr. Ridley. Many thanks to him and his team at TCO!

August 10, 2022

Doug P.

Dr. Ridley is an excellent surgeon. He communicates well with both myself and family. I highly recommend him!

July 28, 2022

John G.

Thank you, Dr. Ridley, for all your hard work. I had surgery on my tibia due to an electric scooter accident. I recommend him as your orthopedic doctor!

July 19, 2022

Aurora B.

Dr. Ridley is the most caring doctor I have ever had. From calling me at home to ensure I was healing properly, to providing me with the best care I could have asked for. I have been a nurse for over 20 years and am experienced in orthopedic procedures. He is professional, caring, and extremely skilled. I am healing better than I could have hoped and I owe that to Dr. Ridley. His professionalism goes above and beyond, I highly recommend him!

May 18, 2022

Nick J.

Thanks to Dr. Ridley and his team, I’m back to 100% and ready to tackle the competition.

April 26, 2022

Joanne H.

On January 27, 2022, Dr. TJ Ridley performed a total left hip replacement. Even though I was discharged the same day, the home recovery was doable. After 60 days and physical therapy, my PT couldn’t tell which hip had been replaced! I would highly recommend TCO and Dr. Ridley to anyone contemplating having this procedure done. It will change your life!

April 12, 2022

Gregg B.

On December 10, 2021, I fell off my work truck and severed my quad tendons in my right leg. I went to TCO Urgent Care in Blaine, where they told me more about my injury. I really just thought that I bruised my leg, but didn’t think it would be anything worse than that. I met with Dr. Ridley and planned out my surgery and recovery. My surgery was on December 20th. Two weeks later, I started therapy at the TCO Blaine clinic. I primarily saw Abby and Tina. They are both so great to work with. I was having trouble with my range of motion and they came up with a great plan to get my leg moving, and worked with me to get the results I needed. They were both so professional and so friendly.

This has been a heck of a long trip. I never had surgery before and this was a hard for me to accept. I drive for a living, and to be told I would be out of work for 5 months and couldn’t drive for 3 months, was not something I wanted to hear. Dr. Ridley was so fantastic to work with and very encouraging. I got my release to work after 4 months. I still have a lot of strengthening to do, but I am now back at work and feeling good about that. I can’t say enough about how TCO helped me out from beginning to end. I would highly recommend them to anyone who would need their services.

February 15, 2022

Sheila

To say I am a little hard on my body is an understatement. I have had multiple issues with both of my knees. I knew it was time to be seen again so I put out a Facebook request for “a great knee guy”. That’s when a private message was sent to me from a longtime family friend. She told me the story of how her mom met Dr. Ridley and how wonderful her mom’s surgery and recovery went. So I looked into Dr. Ridley. Keep in mind, I am NOT an elite athlete but I am a very, very active (almost) 60 year old.

Our first visit was to chat about both of my knees. After x-rays and MRI’s were done, we had answers and made a plan. We planned to “clean up” my right knee with a same day surgery and a total replacement for my bad left knee. Both surgeries were done at the TCO Blaine clinic. My right knee surgery was done in October 2021 and I was in and out without any issues. My left knee surgery was in Jan 2022 and I stayed in the EXCEL Program care suites at the Blaine facility. That suite was seriously the nicest place to recover in. I cannot brag enough about the staff, my suite and my fabulous care. When I was ready to be sent home after both surgeries, Dr. Ridley had all of the medications, PT, Q&A and just about anything else you could want ready to go.

Dr. Ridley calls to check in on you and then his staff does a few days later! I have had my share of doctors that are unlike Dr. Ridley. He listened to me when I explained the issues I was having. He made me feel like a part of the team when it came to surgery day and recovery. I have already referred him to a few family members and friends. So if you’re in pain, don’t hesitate. Dr. Ridley is seriously the best you can get!

February 10, 2022

Gordy E.

Dr. Ridley completed a total knee replacement on my left knee in April and I couldn’t be happier. I just skied 10 days in a row on my new knee at Breckenridge with absolutely no problems whatsoever. Dr. Ridley helped me back to my sports and activities. I would highly recommend Dr. Ridley for any orthopedic procedure!

February 9, 2022

Cadyn H.

I dislocated my left knee cap twice, my right knee cap once, and broke my wrist and collarbone in the span of 3.5 years, injuries which have threatened my hockey career. My second knee cap dislocation happened shortly after my first so I was referred to Dr. TJ Ridley at TCO. Dr. Ridley laid out my options in a way that I could easily understand. He didn’t pressure me and gave me time to make a decision that would work best for me.

I chose to have a medial patellofemoral ligament (MPFL) reconstruction. Dr. Ridley performed the surgery, and it went very well. His care team made sure that I was taken care of throughout the process. I knew what to expect and what I needed to do to recover as soon as possible.

During my recovery, Dr. Ridley referred me to Justin Nicol, a Sports Physical Therapist at TCO Vadnais Heights Therapy & Performance, who helps hockey players return to the ice. Justin had me on the ice for physical therapy and was instrumental in getting me back to playing games sooner than I expected. I loved the ACE – Hockey program and would recommend it to anyone. Big thanks to Dr. Ridley and Justin!

Cadyn H.

January 25, 2022

Jolene F.

Dr. Ridley performed surgery on in November 2021. I am 12 weeks out and I feel almost 100%. I am very thankful for his expertise and the way he took his time with me and answered all of my questions. I never felt rushed or that I was just another person with an injury. I highly, highly, recommend Dr. Ridley. You will be in great hands.

January 4, 2022

Nicole S.

In early 2021 I started having tingling, weakness and pain in my right shoulder/arm. I was referred to TCO by my primary care doctor. My first meeting with Dr. Ridley was amazing. He got to know me has a person. I was never treated like another shoulder/arm case. Dr. Ridley truly listened to everything I had to say and answered all my questions. He was great at explaining everything to me.

He recommend physical therapy and chiropractic care to start. Both seemed to help but I was still having issues with my shoulder. Dr. Ridley didn’t hesitate to get me scheduled for a MRI on my shoulder. That’s when he found the problem, which was a slap tear in my shoulder. Dr. Ridley called me the same day to discuss my MRI results. He walked me through everything, including the results, options and the road ahead. Dr. Ridley and I made the decision that surgery was the best plan of action. He made sure I knew all the positives and negatives that comes along with surgery and what post-surgery would look like.

Dr. Ridley and his team were outstanding before, during and after surgery. I even got pictures of inside my shoulder, which was pretty cool to see. After surgery there was more physical therapy and Dr. Ridley actually read the physical therapist notes. When it came time for my appointments with him, he knew what was going on with my shoulder and where I was at in physical therapy. I felt Dr. Ridley truly cared about how I was doing.

December 3, 2021

Jerry H.

I had a great experience at TCO. My hand was cut pretty badly and Dr. Ridley and his team did a great job in repairing it. My hand is just like new. It feels and looks great. Thank you so much. I am very happy with the outcome.

November 29, 2021

John L.

I had a total left shoulder replacement in November of 2020 due to severe arthritis. Dr. Ridley did an amazing job. He is personable and professional. It’s been one year and my shoulder feels great. I’m very happy with the results.

October 15, 2021

Paige D.

I have danced competitively for almost 15 years. After six months of chronic hip pain, I went to see Dr. Ridley. I was afraid that surgery was going to cut my final year of dancing short, but then he offered a treatment plan to relieve my pain and keep me dancing. The PRP injection has truly changed my life. From being in constant pain and unable to do what I love, I was at an all-time low. The PRP injection worked so incredibly well and eliminated 80% of my pain with no major surgery or pain medication.

October 14, 2021

Jackie

I went to see Dr. Ridley at Twin Cities Orthopedics and I could not be happier with the quality of care provided. I had surgery on my wrist. Dr. Ridley and his team were the most kind and caring team I have ever had. They made the experience so much easier and a lot less scary.

October 10, 2021

Pamela A.

After decades of confusion and visiting a variety of practitioners for chronic leg pain, I finally found out that I needed my hips replaced. I was ready to schedule my surgery but kept hitting road blocks with a previous provider. Inspired by a word-of-mouth recommendation, I called Twin Cities Orthopedics and was scheduled to meet with orthopedic surgeon Dr. TJ Ridley the next day!
He made a great first impression and had me scheduled for my first surgery in exactly one month! I felt validated and relieved to finally be on my way to addressing the problem. He told me that hip replacement is a medical miracle. Based on my experience, I can tell you it’s true. Within a couple hours after surgery, I was on my feet walking around! I was discharged from the hospital the next day and resumed normal activities at home with a few modifications.

A couple months later Dr. Ridley replaced my other hip. Four months later, I’m pain free! I’m hiking and biking every day and keeping up with my grandsons, ages 10 and 11! When I initially met Dr. Ridley, I was using a walker. My hips were in such bad shape and I was in so much pain I could barely walk. Now I can do almost anything! I am grateful to Dr. Ridley and the entire TCO team for restoring my ability to function. My life has changed dramatically as a result of the care I’ve received. Dr. Ridley is empathetic, competent and committed to providing exceptional care. My experience with the entire TCO team has been positive!

October 1, 2021

Sandra D.

Dr. Ridley did a great job on my arm. It has only been one month post-surgery and I feel great! I would recommend him to anyone.

August 27, 2021

Anne R.

Dr. Ridley is a smart and caring Orthopedic Surgeon. He knows his stuff. I’ll be using him for my shoulder replacement next year. I am very pleased with his intelligence and bedside manner.

August 20, 2021

Tony T.

I knew Dr. Ridley was a very accomplished surgeon but it was the phone call and office visit prior to the procedure that really made me feel at ease. I had several questions about the procedure and recovery time and I was a bit nervous. He was very approachable, professional and friendly, and it was very clear to me that he cared about his patients and wanted to make sure all of my questions were answered. At my 2 week post-op follow up appointment, it was more of the same with him taking the time to answer all of my questions, as I was anxious to get back to a routine with fitness and daily life. He also mentioned that he didn’t want me to feel like this was it and that I could call back with any other questions or concerns regarding the procedure. At the 2 week follow up appointment, he also shared how happy he was to see how quickly I was recovering. I am starting my workouts again, biking and walking stairs without any discomfort. I would recommend Dr. Ridley to anyone I know. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

August 5, 2021

Rob B.

My six-year-old daughter broke her arm this summer and we were referred to Dr. Ridley, by the ER at Mercy in Fridley. I am so glad for that referral. Dr. Ridley and his team (especially Bradley) took outstanding care of my daughter. From start to finish, our experience was excellent. Scheduling was easy, the professionals at the front desk (both in Fridley and Coon Rapids) were friendly and helpful, the medical staff put my daughter at ease, and Dr. Ridley was excellent. He has great expertise and communication. I will recommend Dr. Ridley to anyone in need of an Orthopedic Surgeon.

August 2, 2021

Kirk F.

I had pain in both of my knees and had a hard time getting out of bed in the morning. I finally called Dr. TJ Ridley. He provided a thorough examination and assessed my situation. He gave me injections in both knees and I haven’t had pain or soreness since! Thank you, Dr. Ridley, for your professionalism and knowledge. You are the best!!

August 2, 2021

Mark K.

Dr. Ridley is an excellent doctor because he listens to the patient. Dr. Ridley makes you feel as if he really cares. He’s not pretentious in the least. Both my wife and I go to him for the advice and help that we need. I highly recommend him.

July 31, 2021

Anne R.

Dr. Ridley is very informative. He answered all of my questions and genuinely cares about my health. He has a positive attitude and appears to love what he does.

July 30, 2021

Ryan G.

This past spring, I developed some general hip pain. Within one week, I was able to schedule an appointment at a convenient time and location with Dr. Ridley. During my first appointment, Dr. Ridley took the time to get to know me, not only as a patient but as a person. He listened to my hip concerns and I felt understood and acknowledged. During that same appointment, they did an X-ray and Dr. Ridley carefully explained what the x-ray showed. He presented me with a few options, and we decided to follow up and move forward with an MRI to have a more concrete and concise diagnosis. Within one week, I was able to get my MRI and follow-up scheduled.

Similar to my first appointment, Dr. Ridley’s kindness and professionalism were clear and apparent. He explained in detail what the imaging displayed and that the MRI showed a labral tear in my left hip. He presented both surgical and non-surgical choices and explained the pros and cons of each decision in a very non-judgmental way. I did not feel rushed to make a decision and was given information and knowledge to make the best decision. Eventually, I did decide to go through with surgery.

Again, Dr. Ridley carefully and compassionately explained what surgery and recovery would look like. He was very accommodating and found a surgery date that worked for me. The day before my surgery, Dr. Ridley took time out of his day to call me and check in. I’ve had a few surgeries in the past, and he has been the first and only doctor to call me prior to surgery. That small gesture meant a lot to me and again, exemplifies his professional and caring demeanor. The day of surgery, he took time to answer any final questions from me and my parents. The surgery went as perfectly as one could hope and I’ve had minimal to zero pain during recovery and beyond.

I would immediately recommend Dr. Ridley to anyone who is working through hip, shoulder, or knee pain/issues. In the short amount of time that I have known Dr. Ridley, his deep care for his patients is abundantly clear. I am forever grateful for the amazing care I received from Dr. Ridley, his staff, and TCO.

July 30, 2021

Tina F.

My daughter fell down the stairs I took her to the emergency room and found out her left foot was broken! That’s no fun for a kid in the summer. Dr. Ridley was amazing! He is so professional and caring. My daughter was very scared and he was amazing with her. He made her feel very confident that he was going to make sure things were okay. He made her relax about everything and I will definitely go back to him! If anyone is looking for an Orthopedic surgeon, he is the man!! He is very thorough and put all our worries and concerns to the side. You are in good hands with this doctor for sure!

July 15, 2021

Ariel F.

I had a bicep injury and Dr. TJ Ridley was the professional to repair it. He explained every detail to me before the surgery and everything was fine and smooth after the procedure. He is an excellent professional and so is his team. I would also like to say that the physical therapy was really important for the full recovery. All of the TCO staff are so kind and really made me feel comfortable. I will strongly recommend TCO. They are amazing!

June 30, 2021

Karen N.

After seeing two different orthopedic surgeons with disappointing results, I decided to take the advice of family members and I went to see Dr. TJ Ridley on June 4th. He had state of the art equipment, he was knowledgeable and professional. I now have found someone that I trust. I live in rural Minnesota but it was worth the drive. Thank You, Dr. Ridley.

June 19, 2021

George C.

I have been in the orthopedic industry for over 20 years and have friends and family ask for referrals on a daily basis. My close friend has two sons that are high level athletes in baseball and football. They were dealing with sports injuries and wanted my advice. I referred them to Dr. Ridley and they ended up needing surgery and had fantastic outcomes. Why Dr. Ridley, they asked? First off, he is fellowship trained from the world renowned Steadman Clinic in Vail. He is a fantastic surgeon, ethical in his indications for surgery, was a collegiate athlete in two sports and a patient himself with sports injuries. I ended up seeing Dr. Ridley with a hip problem and he was conservative in his treatment. He recommended physical therapy and I’m doing fantastic. When it comes to sports injuries Dr. Ridley is who I refer all my friends and family to.

May 11, 2021

Carol G.

This was my first visit to TCO and my first visit with Dr. TJ Ridley. From the minute I entered the building, I had a good feeling and felt comfortable. Each of the staff members I encountered before meeting with Dr. Ridley were kind and welcoming. My visit with Dr. Ridley was exceptional. He was very interested in hearing my story of the pain in my foot. He was thorough in his questioning. When my results came in, he explained so I could understand what he saw in my tests. Dr. Ridley was clear in his prognosis and he immediately had a plan for me to implement. At this time I have no upcoming appointment as long as I follow his recommendations. I highly recommend Dr. TJ Ridley to anyone looking for an orthopedic physician who is highly qualified and one who truly cares about his patients.

April 12, 2021

Phil F.

Dr. Ridley is extremely thorough, compassionate, direct, and gives you pathways to healing. In my case, I was torn between surgery and natural healing for a broken ulna. He walked me through the process and made me feel 100% confident in my decision to let me body heal naturally. It paid off and he earned my trust. He is always willing to talk through any concerns and backs up all his directions with expert clinical data and support. I would recommend him for any orthopedic procedure or consultation.

March 4, 2021

Meghan F.

In January my husband and I were in a pretty significant snowmobile accident that resulted in multiple injuries— all of which Dr. Ridley provided treatment for. After explaining the pain and swelling I was experiencing in my elbow and knees, Dr. Ridley was extremely proactive in ordering MRI’s to ensure everything was assessed thoroughly. During my follow up appointment, Dr. Ridley took the time to talk through the MRI results in a way that was easily understandable. He made sure any and all of my questions were answered before recommending a treatment plan. I was so impressed by how knowledgeable and thorough Dr. Ridley was in my care across all injuries. I was especially impressed when he took the time to reach out after my appointments to see how I was doing. Overall, Dr. Ridley’s extensive knowledge, excellent communication, and genuine care for his patients make him one of a kind. I would HIGHLY recommend Dr. Ridley to anyone looking for orthopedic care!

March 1, 2021

Bill B.

What I thought was just an ankle sprain, turned into a life threatening emergency. After the swelling went down on my foot, I thought everything was good. Turns out, I had broken my foot and was unaware the bone had become infected. As the infection became worse, I started to feel extremely sick and ended up in the emergency room. Thanks to TCO’s Dr. TJ Ridley, they found the issue and immediately prepped me for surgery. I remember Dr. Ridley looking at the MRI and saying, “This surgery has gone from trying to save your foot, to saving your life.”

Due to the severe infection, I needed a below the knee amputation. It was a shock, but considering the alternative, there was nothing else to do. I spent 6 days in the hospital, and it took two surgeries to make sure I was clear of the infection. Dr. Ridley assured me I would be up and walking before too long, and after a few weeks of recovery at home, I was able to get the staples removed. Things were progressing nicely and Dr. Ridley referred me to some amazing people who fitted for my prosthetic leg.

By the time I had a follow up appointment with Dr. Ridley, I was able to walk into his office without aid of crutches or a cane. My goal was to be able to walk on my own by Christmas and I’m proud to say I accomplished just that. I have now finished up my physical therapy, and my life is pretty much back to normal. Dr. Ridley and his staff were excellent to work with, always available to answer any questions I had, and helped me maintain a positive attitude, which I believe helped my recovery. I can’t say thank you enough. You literally saved my life.

Watch Bill’s Story Here: https://streamable.com/getje6

February 24, 2021

Tim H.

Dr. Ridley re-attached my bicep on November 20th and the surgery was a complete success! After therapy, I have almost full movement in my arm and am able to use it without any problems. The follow-up visits were great and he answered all of my questions.

February 8, 2021

Troy

I had shoulder surgery with Dr. Ridley. After my surgery, there were no issues and the pain I had is completely gone. I’ll be back to work in 3 months. Thank you Dr. Ridley!

January 19, 2021

Dorrie N.

My son jammed his thumb playing hockey and we went to see Dr. Ridley at TCO. We were able to get in to see him in a timely manner. My son’s appointment was on time. Dr. Ridley was professional and very knowledgeable. He shared the results of the x-ray, examined my son’s thumb, discussed next steps, and answered all of our questions. He even asked about my son’s hockey season and other sports he played. I would highly recommend Dr. Ridley. I really appreciate that he’s not only a professional and knowledgeable physician, but a personable one as well. Dr. Ridley exceeded my expectations. Thank you!

January 12, 2021

Reid N.

Over the last 10-15 years I’ve accumulated multiple, minor knee injuries. Recently, I had another injury but this one felt a little different. It was more scary and more painful than ones I experienced in the past. I sought out Dr. Ridley at TCO for his insight. After a very thorough exam and x-ray series, we decided to manage the issue conservatively. Dr. Ridley recommended continuing with physical therapy; consisting of weight-bearing exercises, as well as range of motion mobility. My knee is now about 99% back to pre-injury status and Dr. Ridley has checked in multiple times to see how the progress has been going. I couldn’t be happier to have his insight and professionalism as a guiding aid!

January 11, 2021

Mike N.

I had the opportunity to meet with Dr. TJ Ridley about shoulder issues I was having. I was having pain from a rotator cuff injury that occured a year (or so) ago. Dr. Ridley provided me a full evaluation, recommended me to physical therapy, and now my shoulder feels significantly better. I specifically told him that I’d like to be able to get back to golfing and working out without pain. He explained how I can accomplish the goal and sent me to the right place for PT, to ensure I was taken care of. For anyone that is in need of a doctor who listens, put’s their patients best interest first, has the knowledge and educational background behind his name, and is passionate about helping others accomplish their medical goals, I would highly recommend an evaluation with Dr. Ridley!

December 16, 2020

Angela B.

After a fluke accident, my daughter fractured her finger and mangled her nail. The ER referred us to Dr. Ridley at TCO. We got an appointment quickly and soon learned that this injury to her tiny finger would require surgery. From the very beginning, Dr. Ridley and his staff made the process as easy as possible. Both Dr. Ridley and his assistant, Bradley, are kind, funny, gentle, and patient. They both did all they could to make my daughter feel comfortable and ease her fears. As a parent, I appreciated the fact that they travel together to their different clinic locations– familiar faces helped to ease my daughter’s nervousness, and provided for excellent continuity of care.

Dr. Ridley explained things thoroughly and took plenty of time to answer our questions and address any concerns. COVID (combined with a holiday) made scheduling tricky. But between Dr. Ridley and his care coordinator, Jackie, they took action to not only secure an open operating room, but assisted in getting same day scheduling for the COVID test and pre-op exam. Dr. Ridley demonstrated superb bedside manner. In the world of orthopedics, I suspect that this is one of the most minor cases. However, an injury is painful and scary for a 10 year old and Dr. Ridley was respectful and compassionate towards both of us. Immediately following surgery, Dr. Ridley filled us in on how things went and what to expect next. The surgical experience was flawless and my daughter experienced NO surgical pain at any time after. We are now three weeks post-surgery and she is healing, as expected, and nearly ready to return to all her usual activities.

Scheduling post-op appointments has been easy and efficient. We have been able to schedule at times convenient to us, and have experienced almost no wait time while at the clinic. While I would prefer no more broken bones in our future, I would definitely return to TCO and would have no hesitation in returning to Dr. Ridley. He is knowledgeable, competent, and patient-focused. In the words of the patient herself: “Five out of five stars! He is fantastic!” She also sought out a business card on her way out. I will have to monitor this, as she may now think they are old pals and be calling just to chit chat.