Physician Appointments 952-456-7777 833-743-7300
Search

Patient Testimonials

Read what everyone is saying about TCO

As the largest orthopedic physician group in the Midwest, and one of the largest in the country, you are sure to find a clinic that best meets your needs.

January 16, 2019

Steven H.

I am most fortunate that I chose Dr. Michael Smith for a second opinion regarding disc fusion surgery. Not only was I further convinced of the need for the surgery, but, persuaded by the doctor to quit smoking cigarettes after 40 years of smoking due to their effect on the healing process. Most importantly, I am sincerely grateful to Dr. Smith, Anne Anderson RNFA, and the entire staff for the outstanding care that I received before, during and after they performed a successful surgery. This friendly team of highly skilled and experienced professionals has treated me with utmost respect, compassion and kindness. For that I am eternally in their debt.

January 4, 2019

Charles H.

After 8 years of treating Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma, my lymphoma seemed under control. Just after Christmas of 2016, my lower back began to ache. I went in for my routine Lymphoma check-up in early January 2017. The CT scan showed a lymph node that had not changed size in 8 years was greatly enlarged and was occupying about 25% of my L5 vertebrae. I received 8 days of radiation treatment in February to kill the cancer cells in my spin. My oncologist noted that the cancer was eliminated from my spine, but the cancer and radiation had damaged about 25% of my L5 vertebrae. I was advised that the damage may repair itself or may get worse. One month later, in March, I felt my L5 begin to crumble.

Over the next few months I saw numerous doctors about what to do. The pain and my ability to walk kept getting worse and I finally was scheduled for an MRI in September. After the MRI showed my L5 was crumbling, I was referred to and approved to see Dr. Bartie in October. At my first appointment with Dr. Bartie, he reviewed my MRI and had me do a few simple exercises. At the end of the exam he told me I would soon lose the use of my right leg if I did not have surgery. My spinal cord was almost pinched off at this time. My spinal cord was squeezed down to about a 1mm in diameter by the L5 bone chips. He also said the surgery was typically 100% successful if the patient had not had lymphoma and radiation treatment. For me he said the chances for success are about 50-50. My L5 was “a bag of bone chips” in Dr. Bartie’s words. In short, 50-50 chance of keeping the use of my legs with surgery, 100% chance of losing the use of my legs without surgery.

Dr. Bartie scheduled me for surgery November 14, 2017. He estimated the surgery would take 4 hours. The surgery took 7 hours, and I lost a liter of blood. In Dr. Bartie’s words to my wife “it was a beast of a surgery”. The day after surgery I could walk without any of the pain I previously had. My spinal cord now had a 15mm channel instead of a 1mm channel. I had pain from the surgery but that was nothing compared to the pain before surgery. I stayed in the hospital for 3 days then went home. Dr. Bartie advised me on what physical activity was appropriate next year. For 6 weeks, I stayed home doing essentially nothing. After that I start doing some light workouts at the gym, only doing exercises Dr. Bartie recommended. For 6 months, I was not to lift anything over 10 pounds. I went back to work after 6 weeks, no lifting involved with my job. After 6 months, I worked my way up to exercising with up to 50 pounds on weight machines recommended by Dr. Bartie. Today I exercise regularly at the gym, can walk at least 1 mile with no pain and am looking forward to fly fishing and scuba diving again.

January 2, 2019

Darrel L.

Dr. David Holte is an excellent surgeon and the most caring doctor I have ever dealt with. He performed my back surgery in December 2017 and made sure I was taken care of. I was experiencing some pain during the first night after my surgery and when the nursing staff contacted him with a question, he came in to the hospital in the middle of the night to make sure I was okay. During my recovery, he not only took care of me but made sure that my family had everything they needed. He is the only spine doctor I would ever see and would recommend him to anyone looking for the best, most caring spine surgeon.

January 2, 2019

David H.

I was experiencing numbing from waist down! With the diagnosis from Dr. David Holte, surgery was scheduled! He is a very excellent surgeon, along with his staff, Nurse Wendy and Care Coordinator Kim! I would recommend Dr. David Holte to all that have back issues! Thank you for the success of my surgery!

December 13, 2018

Dale M.

In May of 2018, I experienced some lower back pain that quickly developed into a lot of pain from my left hip to my tingling toes. After trying several different treatments from cortisone shots (2), to chiropractic visits and therapy, it became apparent that I would need to have surgery on my L4-5 to relieve the impingement that was putting pressure on my sciatic nerve from a herniated disc and foraminal narrowing (MRI terminology). Surgery was scheduled but put off until after harvest season (farmer). Dr. Rick Davis had prescribed a couple of different medications which allowed me to finish the harvest season ahead of the surgery and which worked very well…really, a life saver. My experience with Dr. Davis and his PA Brandon was exceptional! From the time I entered the clinic the morning of surgery until I left some 4 hours later to go home was amazing. Everyone was so accommodating, understanding and comforting…the surgery by Dr. Davis turned out to be 100% successful and I am once again pain free on my left side. I would definitely recommend TCO and Dr. Davis without hesitation. Just got home from my follow up appointment and had a great conversation with Brandon and Dr. Davis about the surgery and the healing process over the next several weeks. Thank you Dr. Davis, TCO and Brandon.

December 13, 2018

Jeanne K.

Dr. Davis is an excellent Spinal Surgeon. I have no pain in legs or buttocks which had been persisting for over one year. He is kind, professional, very talented and has a super caring staff. He is terrific in every way. I am so glad and grateful to have had him for my surgeon. Thank you Dr. Davis for this wonderful outcome and to your staff, as well.

December 11, 2018

Kristine S.

I had a 2 level disc replacement in my cervical spine in July 2018 to replace the worn and collapsed discs that were causing me a substantial amount of pain. I noticed results immediately after awakening from surgery. The nerve pain that I had going down both my arms was gone! I am very happy with my results and I am glad to keep full mobility in my neck. Dr. Bartie and his team are very professional and a joy to work with. I would highly recommend him for anyone considering this type of surgery.

December 10, 2018

Joyce J.

I went to Twin Cities Orthopedics for a second opinion and found Dr. Crowe. He had fixed a compound fracture of my ankle in 2000, and did a wonderful job. I was so happy to find him again and he did a wonderful job on my back. I am pain free and so grateful to Dr. Crowe. If you want a great surgeon who knows his stuff…..Call him!! You will not be disappointed.

November 19, 2018

Judi A.

4-5 years ago I was in severe pain even after trying multiple treatments. Consulting another Ortho group, I was offered a tri-level fusion, L3, 4, 5, and S1. Although the pain was incessant to the point of changing my personality, I just did not feel right about the surgery and came to Dr. Bartie for a second opinion. He did not recommend the surgery and instead referred me to another treatment. I decided to try one last thing. I have now had my third Radio Frequency Ablation. My back will never be perfect but this treatment got me out of pain and able to conduct my life fairly normally. I am grateful to Dr. Bartie and the staff at TCO for their knowledge and treatment of my ailment. Dr. Bartie was not eager to perform surgery before other options were tried. It worked! Very happy with experience.

November 6, 2018

Dave P.

I would like to thank Dr. Bartie and his staff for the excellent care and treatment. I had C5/6 Microdiscetomy surgery in September and I am absolutely pain free today! I cannot say enough about the excellent care I received from Dr. Bartie and his staff, the Lakeview Hospital staff and all people that were involved in my surgery. The care and outcome of my surgery are a testimony that these people are outstanding in their profession.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7

As the largest orthopedic physician group in the Midwest, and one of the largest in the country, you are sure to find a clinic that best meets your needs.

Share Your Testimonial Filter Testimonials

Filter by options below

Specialties

Services

Reset Filters